Types of Assemblies?

Assemblies are of three types:

  1. Private Assembly
  2. Shared Assembly
  3. Satellite Assembly

Private Assembly:

If each and every program having it's own copy of .dll such assembly is called Private Assembly

Disadvantage: Memory will be wasted.

Share Assembly:

Only one copy of .dll is used by all applications present such assembly is called Shared Assembly. These dll's are stored in a location called Global Assembly Cache(GAC).


  • System.dll
  • .Net enterprise services require shared assemblies in specific scenarios.

Satellite Assembly:

A Satellite Assembly is an assembly that only contains resources.


  • This is extremely useful for localization.